US Nonproliferation and Nuclear Policy

IWP 607
Four credits

The aim of this course is to familiarize the student with the key technical, historical, legal, and practical political factors needed to understand and assess the merits of past, present, and proposed nuclear control policies. The course is not intended to cover every topic related to nuclear energy policy but should give the student the insights and tools needed to investigate them on their own. The aim is to inspire and interest the student to undertake such study both during and after the course.

Schedule for Fall 2016:

Thursday class times: 6:30-8:00 p.m.; Friday class times: 12:00-1:30 p.m.

Fri, Sept. 9                  City Busting, the Nuclear Weapons Revolution, and Precision Guidance

Thurs, Sept. 15            Nuclear Deterrence

Fri, Sept. 23                Nuclear Energy Basics: Fission, Fusion, and Bomb Designs

Fri, Sept. 30                Nuclear Energy Basics: Continued

Fri, Oct. 7                    Nuclear Energy Basics: Reactors and Nuclear Fuel Making

Thur, Oct. 20               Nuclear Nonproliferation Regime: Its History and Key Premises (Part 1)

Fri, Oct. 28                  Nuclear Nonproliferation Regime: Its History and Key Premises (Part 2)

Fri, Nov. 4                   Nuclear Energy Economics

Thur, Nov. 17              Nuclear Terrorism & Nuclear Proliferation Intelligence

Fri, Dec. 2                   Thinking about the Next Arms Race

 

Semester Available


Fall Semester

Special Note


This course takes place on Capitol Hill in a lecture-style format.

Principal Professor


   Henry D. Sokolski
Executive Director, Nonproliferation Policy Education Center; Former Deputy for Nonproliferation Policy, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy {read more}