LinkedIn tracking pixel

Alumni Board hosts Inaugural Reunion for IWP alumni

Reunion 1

On April 14, nearly 80 alumni and guests gathered at the historic DACOR Bacon house for the Inaugural Alumni Reunion of The Institute of World Politics, sponsored by the IWP Alumni Board.

The event began with an alumni meeting during which Alumni Board members discussed updates at the school and in the alumni community, and alumni were given the opportunity to ask questions. IWP Chairman Owen Smith and President John Lenczowski also gave remarks at the meeting.

The next part of the program involved roundtable discussions between alumni and four IWP faculty members. Prof. Aaron Danis, Dr. David Glancy, Dr. John Lenczowski, and Dr. Jack Tierney each led a casual discussion.

Reunion 2

Alumni then gathered outside for a reception and the presentation of alumni awards, the recipients of which were selected by votes by IWP alumni. Gene Poteat, a former senior Scientific Intelligence Officer at the CIA and Professor Emeritus at IWP, was recognized as an outstanding alumnus from IWP’s first 15 years of instruction. CW Walker, a cybersecurity expert and team lead at Recorded Future, was recognized as an outstanding alumnus from the most recent ten years.

Prof. S. John Tsagronis was recognized as an outstanding full time faculty member, and his daughter Katherine received the award on his behalf. Anne Bradley, John Sano, and Robert Stephan were recognized as outstanding adjunct professors.

The evening concluded with a dinner and a keynote address by David Hogue, Senior Technical Director at NSA’s Cybersecurity Threat Operations Center (NCTOC).

Many thanks to the sponsors and volunteers who made this event possible.

Reunion 3